iPhone
(Photo : Pixabay)

There are many reasons you would want to mask the number of your iPhone before you place a call. One of them, probably, is to secure your privacy. 

iPhone
(Photo : Pixabay)

You may be trying to surprise a significant other, or you may be trying to call a company that you would not save your number to avoid in the future.

Whatever the reason you want to block the caller ID on an iPhone, you have three different ways to do so. Each has various advantages and disadvantages.

ALSO READ: Upgrading to iPhone SE? Here Are Things to Do on Old iPhone Before Switching 

How to block the caller ID on an iPhone with *67

The easiest way to block your iPhone's caller ID is to use the trick * 67, referenced as "star six seven." This approach has the advantage of being reversible, which allows you to block only singular calls. However, it requires you to enter a code before each call, which can take time.

1. Open the iPhone's Phone app.

2. Type "*67" and then enter the rest of the mobile number.

3. Call the number.

Using *67 is free to use. Contrary to a common misconception, there is no charge for blocking your call using this technique.

ALSO READ: iPhone Tips, Tricks: Five Hacks iPhone Users Should Know

How to block the caller ID on an iPhone permanently

When you want your number to be blocked all the time, you may be able to change the settings always to mask your number. However, it will not be easy if your network is Verizon or Sprint. The solutions set out below are not available on iPhones with Verizon or Sprint as the operator.

How to block your iPhone's caller ID permanently through your carrier

If you have a legitimate reason always to block your caller ID, you can do it by directly calling your service provider and requesting the change.

Contact your cell provider and inquire about permanent blocking of caller IDs, but also make sure to check if the anonymity costs are applied.

What happens if you block someone?

Incoming calls will go directly to voicemail when someone in FaceTime, Messages, or the Phone app is blocked. They can even leave you a message that will appear silently in the Phone app's Voicemail section but hidden in a Blocked Messages section.

Messages or FaceTime calls will not show on your Apple computers, so the person you blocked is not going to receive a warning or be any wiser. They would be left with the feeling you neglect them.

Blocking others in the mail app will result in their messages going to the specific email address in the trash tab.

View your block list, or unblock someone

You will need to open the Settings app and pick Phone, FaceTime, Email, or Mail from the list if you have a change of heart and delete someone from the block list. Each of the first three selections will have a Blocked Contacts environment, while Mail will have an option to 'Ignore.'

Regardless of which settings page you 're using, when you find the person you want to unblock, swipe over their names to the left.

Your blocked list is the same through Phone, FaceTime Mail, and Texts, so you don't have to visit every device every time and delete the touch. You may remove anyone from the Phone settings page and be excluded (or vice versa) from Calls, FaceTime, and Mail.

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.