MENU

Facebook Implements Changes To Login API So You Don't Overshare Personal Information

Close

To help maintain the privacy of its users, Facebook has implemented the new version of Facebook Login  so that people do not overshare personal information.

In the previous setup, one had to share personal data available on Facebook with third-party applications, even without wanting to, in order to gain access to apps such as Candy Crush. A user did not have the discretion of choosing which information they wanted to share. All that is about to change thanks to the Anonymous Login feature.

On April 30, 2014, Facebook announced that it would introduce a new API next spring, which would give the user, not the developer, the power to choose what information the app can access. Developers were given a one-year window to prepare for the change.

"With the new Login, people can select the data an app gets by unchecking categories of information, one by one. For example, if someone wants to share their email address with an app, but not their birthday, they can make that choice with a couple taps. The new Facebook Login also won't post to Facebook without permission."

A year later, Facebook has stayed true to its promise. Users who now access any third-party app using the "Log In Using Facebook" feature will be guided to a login approval page where they will be greeted by the option of choosing which data sets they are willing to share. For example, if users only want to share their birthday and location, they simply check or uncheck the categories. The app will also not be able to post on Facebook without a user's permission.

Thanks to this new way of logging in to third-party apps, users will be able to exercise more control over the information they are sharing. Facebook's move will help alleviate the users' fear of apps accessing private information.

A minor possibility exists that the changes from Facebook may cause a third-party app to crash in the event that the developer has been tardy and has failed to update their app. However, Facebook's product manager Simon Cross thinks this is unlikely.

Those who have used the Facebook login app previously, however, do not have any easy way of getting their information back and may have to request the app's creator to delete the data since Facebook cannot do anything in this regard.

ⓒ 2018 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics