Since 1997, the Ignatz Awards have been given to individuals responsible for outstanding achievements in independent comics. Ignatz comes from the Small Press Expo, a convention for what are essentially self-published comic books.

In other words, the comics at SPX — and eligible for Ignatz Awards — aren't available at your local comic store. This year's nominees have just been announced, and the nine categories highlight indie titles like Jillian Tamaki's Super Mutant Magic Academy, Ethan Rilly's Pope Hats and Sophia Foster-Dimino's Sex Fantasy.

Here's the full list of this year's nominees:

Outstanding Artist

• Emily Carroll - Through the Woods
• Ed Luce - Wuvable Oaf
• Roman Muradov - (In a Sense) Lost and Found
• Jillian Tamaki - Super Mutant Magic Academy
• Noah Van Sciver - Saint Cole

Outstanding Anthology or Collection 

Drawn and Quarterly, 25 Years of Contemporary Cartooning, Comics, and Graphic Novels - Tom Devlin, Chris Oliveros, Peggy Burns, Tracy Hurren, and Julia Pohl-Miranda, editors
An Entity Observes All Things - Box Brown
How to Be Happy - Eleanor Davis
Pope Hats #4 - Ethan Rilly
Super Mutant Magic Academy - Jillian Tamaki

Outstanding Graphic Novel

Beauty - Kerascoët and Hubert
The Oven - Sophie Goldstein
Rav - Mickey Zacchilli
Saint Cole - Noah Van Sciver
Wendy - Walter Scott

Outstanding Story

The Doctors - Dash Shaw
• "Me As a Baby" from Lose #6 - Michael DeForge 
• "Nature Lessons" from The Late Child and Other Animals - Marguerite Van Cook & James Romberger
• "Sex Coven" from Frontier #7 - Jillian Tamaki
Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness - Kris Mukai

Promising New Talent

• M. Dean - K.M. & R.P. & MCMLXXI (1971)
• Sophia Foster-Dimino - Sphincter, Sex Fantasy
• Dakota McFadzean - Don't Get Eaten by Anything
• Jane Mai - Soft
• Gina Wynbrandt - Big Pussy

Outstanding Series

Dumb - Georgia Webber
Frontier - Ryan Sands, editor
March - John Lewis, Andrew Aydin & Nate Powell
Pope Hats - Ethan Rilly
Sex Fantasy - Sophia Foster-Dimino

Outstanding Comic

Borb - Jason Little
The Nature of Nature - Disa Wallander
The Oven - Sophie Goldstein
Pope Hats #4 - Ethan Rilly
Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness - Kris Mukai

Outstanding Mini-Comic

Devil's Slice of Life - Patrick Crotty
Epoxy #5 - John Pham
King Cat #75 - John Porcellino
Sex Fantasy #4 - Sophia Foster-Dimino
Whalen: A Reckoning - Audry

Outstanding Online Comic

The Bloody Footprint - Lilli Carre
Carriers - Lauren Weinstein
Mom Body - Rebecca Roher
O Human Star - Blue Delliquanti
Witchy - Ariel Ries

The Ignatz Awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, September 19, 2015, in Bethesda, Md. The ceremony is open to the public, and convention attendees vote to determine the winners.

Be sure to follow T-Lounge on Twitter and visit our Facebook page. 

ⓒ 2021 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.