Doctor Who's dozen-episode ninth season is just days away, so the powers that be (at BBC America) have deemed now the right time to reveal all 12 episode titles.

The news was announced on Twitter today, via a graphic that emphasized how the season is very nearly a series of two-part episodes. The image mirrors one title opposite another — an arrangement that underscores this structure for the season.

Multi-part episodes were the stock-in-trade of Doctor Who back in the original series, but the modern series has largely relied on standalones, with the occasional two-parter popping up here and there, most often for season premieres or finales. The show's decision to rely largely on doubling up this time is one of many stylistic choices meant to set it apart from last year and signal a new sense of fun and adventure.

Here's a quick rundown of every episode title, and what (little) we know about each episode.

1. The Magician's Apprentice

Part 1 of 2. Michelle Gomez is back as Missy, and Jemma Redgrave returns as U.N.I.T. director Kate Stewart. BBC America's official plot description is as follows:

"Where is the Doctor?" When the skies of Earth are frozen by a mysterious alien force, Clara needs her friend. But where is the Doctor, and what is he hiding from? As past deeds come back to haunt him, old enemies will come face-to-face, and for the Doctor and Clara survival seems impossible.

2. The Witch's Familiar

Part 2 of 2. Showrunner Steven Moffat wrote both episodes, and Hettie MacDonald directed them.

Trapped and alone in a terrifying Dalek city, the Doctor is at the heart of an evil Empire; no sonic, no TARDIS, nobody to help. With his greatest temptation before him, can the Doctor resist? And will there be mercy?

3. Under the Lake

Part 1 of 2. Paul Kaye from Game of Thrones guest stars in this two-parter written by Toby Whithouse. It's said to be one of the creepiest and scariest stories Doctor Who has ever done.

4. Before the Flood

Part 2 of 2.

5. The Girl Who Died

Part 1 of 2. This is the much-discussed storyline that features special guest star Maisie Williams (Arya Stark on Game of Thrones). Fans are obsessed with figuring out who Williams is playing, since previews have teased them as knowing each other from a long time ago.

6. The Woman Who Lived

Part 2 of 2.

7. The Zygon Invasion

Part 1 of 2. Jemma Redgrave is back as Kate Stewart for the second time this season, and (surprise!) the recently deceased Osgood (Ingrid Oliver) is back too. Probably has something to do with the return of those shape-shifting Zygons.

8. The Zygon Inversion

Part 2 of 2.

9. Sleep No More

One of only two standalone episodes this season. Written by frequent Who contributor (and Moffat's Sherlock co-creator) Mark Gatiss, and described by the writer as very dark.

10. Face the Raven

Rigsy (Joivan Wade), the graffiti artist from last season's "Flatline," is back for this one, about which nothing is known.

11. Heaven Sent

Part 1 of 2. The season finale consists of this last two-parter written by Moffat and directed by Rachel Talalay. All we know is that Moffat has promised a huge cliffhanger at the end of Part 1 that he believes "no one will see coming."

12. Hell Bent

Part 2 of 2.

Be sure to follow T-Lounge on Twitter and visit our Facebook page.

ⓒ 2021 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.