Although “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” earned five Oscar Award nominations this year. The actors of all the films so far, have not been recognized with Academy Award nods for their work on the saga. Daisy Ridley, however, the star of the seventh movie, will be getting her very own Oscar Award in February – An Oscar Wilde Award, that is.

The Oscar Wilde Awards are given out the non-profit US-Ireland Alliance to recognize the contributions of Irish men and women in the film and television industry.

Daisy Ridley, who is of Irish ancestry, will be receiving the Oscar Wilde Award at a grand bash on Feb. 25 in Santa Monica, California which will be hosted by “Star Wars” director J.J. Abrams.

The new young Hollywood star not only plays the protagonist in the highest grossing movie of all time, but is also the first female to headline a “Star Wars” movie. Many are seeing Rey, her character in “The Force Awakens,” as a great role model for both young girls and boys as a strong yet approachable female lead in a science fiction/adventure movie.

Ridley's voice is featured in the English-dubbed release of Studio Ghibli's “Only Yesterday” (Omohide Poro Poro) as Taeko, which was also lauded for its woman-centric theme. The anime film opened on New Year's Day at the IFC Center in New York and will be released nationwide on Feb. 26.

Prior to her “Star Wars” fame, Ridley also played a part in an innovative, interactive film “Lifesaver” in which the audience got to decide if she would save the victim in the movie or walk away.

Filming for “Episode VIII” of the “Star Wars” has already begun with scenes on the Irish Island of Skellig Michael. This was also where the final shots of “The Force Awakens” were shot when Rey first meets Luke Skywalker who has been in hiding for 20 years.

Although the official release date of the next installment of the trilogy has been pushed back several months to December 2017, fans can't wait to see Ridley take up her light saber again and how her relationship with newly found Luke will unfold.

ⓒ 2021 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.