Facebook recently announced that it will wipe out synced photos from the social network soon.

For the uninitiated, the company unveiled in 2012 the app's photo syncing feature that enables users to instantly synchronize images from their phones to a private Facebook album. The firm wanted users to easily view, edit and share the pictures at a later time if they wanted to.

Now, the company has kickstarted phasing out this particular feature in its effort to lure Facebook users to try out its Moments app.

"Finally, an easy way to get all the photos of yourself trapped to your friend's phones," reads the description of Moments on Apple's App Store. "After events, celebrations, trips or just hanging out, it's no longer a hassle to collect all the photos and videos you'll want to look back on."

In other words, users can seamlessly share their pictures to their friends and grab their photos as well by means of the Moments app.

Facebook says that the photos users privately synced from their handset will be erased from the social networking site on July 7.

"To keep your [photos], get Moments, a new app from Facebook, or download them to your computer," reads the notification from the company to users, as shared by CNN. "If you don't log into Moments by Jul 7, they'll be deleted."

It is worth mentioning that this will not affect the images and videos users shared via Facebook.

How To Save Synced Photos

If users wish to download their synced photos, below is a step-by-step guide that they may follow:

1. Head to the profile page.
2. Hit "Photos."
3. Select "Synced from Phone" option.
4. Choose the photos to save.
5. Click "Options" located at the bottom part of the picture then hit "Download."

It is also possible to download all synced photos simultaneously. What they have to do is to head over to the "Synced from Phone" section under "Photos." Click the link that says "download your synced photos" to save the images.

How To Delete Synced Photos

Users who wish to delete their synced photos instead of just letting Facebook do the job, may want to follow these steps:

1. Head to profile.
2. Select "Photos."
3. Tap "Synced from Phone."
4. Choose the pictures they want to delete.
5. Hit "Delete," which can be spotted at the bottom-left of the picture.

In December, Tech Times reported that the company announced its plans to wipe out photo syncing through a notification saying that the said feature would be moving to Moments app last Jan. 10.

Last month, we also reported that a modified version of the Moments app was rolled out in Canada and the European Union without the facial recognition technology. This is because courts in Canada and the European Union have ruled that the photo-tagging system is deemed a violation of privacy laws.

Photo: Kārlis Dambrāns | Flickr

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.