The executive order which was signed by President Donald Trump has been blocked by a U.S. federal judge.

The executive order debars citizens of several nations belonging to the Muslim majority from entering the country for the 90 days. The countries on the list are Iran, Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Yemen, and Somalia. 

"The petitioners have a strong likelihood of success in establishing that the removal of the petitioner and other similarly situated violates their due process and equal protection guaranteed by the United States Constitution," ruled Ann Donnelly, U.S. District Court Judge.

The judge said that the immigration authorities are not allowed to send citizens back since they have come to the country after abiding by the various visa regulations. Some people are also believed to be only in transit.

This recent ruling came in the wake of two Iraqis getting hauled up recently at the John F. Kennedy International Airport in New York late on Friday. 

Protests against the directive set in place by the Trump administration have been happening at various airports across the United States. The decision has been condemned worldwide.

Executive Order On Immigration 

The executive order — Protection Of The Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into The United States — implies exactly what Trump had promised during his election campaign, which is to prevent refugees from entering the United States for a period of 90 days.

It also speaks about tightening the borders of the country to prevent unwarranted access.

Apart from the ban, which has already been issued on the seven countries for a period of three months, the order also puts a lid on the number of refugees — 50,000 — which would be allowed into the United States. A substantial decrease from the current number of 110,000. 

The order also puts a stop on all refugees from Syria seeking asylum in the country for an indefinite period. 

"I am establishing new vetting measures to keep radical Islamic terrorists out of the United States of America," Trump said while signing the order.

He expressed further reservation over the immigrant issue and stated that the United States does not want such people.

According to a Department of Homeland Security official, around 109 travelers entering the United States have been prevented from entering the country following the signing of the order. 

No details are available regarding the number of people deported to their home countries and those who were detained.

The decision by the Trump administration has been condemned by many prominent company executives such as Microsoft's Satya Nadella, Apple's Tim Cook, and British Prime Minister Theresa May.

Photo: Gage Skidmore | Flickr

ⓒ 2021 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.