WhatsApp new feature disappearing videos and photos
(Photo : Pexels)

WhatsApp finally has the feature to make shared content disappear permanently but only for Android, for now.

Self Destruct in 3, 2, 1

WhatsApp now has added the feature that lets you send important photos or videos with a self-destruct timer that you can choose to decide just how long.

However, it will only be available for Android devices for now. WhatsApp CEO Will Cathcart and Mark Zuckerberg have been planning the move for a while now, together with other devices and iPad support, as reported by WABetaInfo.

Last year, there has been a steady increase of people who have embraced the messaging app, and this has spurred a huge demand for privacy and updated features to give users a safe environment that they're used to.

Popular messaging platforms such as Facebook's Messenger has the "Secret Conversation", and Snapchat already has the disappearing photos, so why not create the same update for WhatsApp? 

WhatsApp already has disappearing messages, so why not add disappearing media content, right? That was the next logical step that the team decided to pursue to protect people's sensitive information online if needed, and maybe also to prevent unwanted clutter on a particular chat as clean as possible.

Read More: WhatsApp Gives Users Access to Facebook Shops | Cross-Platform Shopping Made Easier

Definitely Useful

Just like what it says it is intended for, disappearing messages has its uses. Users can safely transfer sensitive information through WhatsApp in the coming update and make sure that it will not be stored in any of its servers.

Once the intended recipient received the message, it will self-delete in an X number of seconds, depending on the sender's preference.

By default, WhatsApp saves your photos in your phone regardless if it's a regular photo or video or a disappearing one. With that only share the app with trusted users, or at least be aware that this is the case. So regardless if the photo disappeared, and you turned on the setting for saving media content, it will still appear on your phone.

What You Need to Know

Based on the FAQ of WhatsApp, if a user creates a backup right before the message supposedly disappears, it will be included in the backup of the user.

However, disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores the backup. Confusing? We know.

Also, an important thing to note is that when sending disappearing messages to trusted people, the person can forward or even take a screenshot before it disappears completely. They can also copy and save the content, or take a photo of the disappearing message with another camera or device. Just something that you need to know in case you haven't thought about it already.

The new feature is a welcome addition to the already growing features that WhatsApp is continuing to dish out, making it much more competitive in the messenger app market right now that's dominated by big companies.

Read More: WhatsApp's View Once Feature Might be Helping Alleged Pedophiles Destroy Evidence, According to Child Safety Campaigners

This article is owned by Tech Times

Written by Alec G.

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.