There are times when we log in to our Facebook accounts and get all nostalgic thanks to the "On This Day" feature that pulls up a status or photo from the exact date in your Facebook history — whether that means one, three or five years ago. These are often happier memories, such as a snapshot of a slighter younger version of yourself sharing a moment with friends, posting that you finally landed your dream job or announcing your engagement. How can we not to share these reminders from our past again?

Then, there are times when this walk down memory lane goes off the rails and we are reminded of a darker memory, such as having to relive a painful breakup or that a family member is no longer with us.

Now, Facebook users can remove these memories Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind-style using new "On This Day" controls that launched on Tuesday.

Facebook users can now use the "On This Day" page to edit their memories. Simply go to "preferences" and enter a person you wish you never had to see again or a specific date that will trigger something you don't want to remember. Facebook will then filter posts from that time in your life and the people you don't want who are tagged in these posts from appearing as part of this time travel feature.

If you are a person who prefers to live in the present and not look back, you can also turn off "On This Day" notifications so you never have to be relive these moments.

Remember that whenever you are feeling nostalgic, you can go to facebook.com/onthisday to see your history on the site from that day.

Via: Tech Crunch

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.