Roku Apple TV App
(Photo : Roku) Certain Roku users can now download the Apple TV app on their devices.

It's official: the Apple TV app is making its way to Roku devices.

That said, it's coming with perfect timing, since Apple TV Plus is scheduled to roll out on Nov. 1 across 100 countries and regions.

Apple TV On Roku

As Roku announced, the Apple TV app will be available via the Channel Store free of charge. Any content that users have bought and downloaded in their iTunes library will be accessible through the app, needless to say. The same also goes for Apple TV Channel subscriptions and the like, as well as personalized recommendations from those channels.

On top of that, users can sign up for Apple TV Plus within the app on Roku when the service goes live, which is priced at $4.99 a month.

"With the Apple TV app coming to Roku, our customers will enjoy an even broader range of exciting entertainment, including the highly anticipated Apple TV Plus service," Scott Rosenberg, senior vice president and general manager of platform business at Roku, says.

For the uninitiated, Apple TV Plus is set to debut with plenty of originals, including Servant from M. Night Shyamalan, The Banker that features Samuel L. Jackson and Anthony Mackie, and Truth Be Told starring Octavia Spencer and Aaron Paul.

It's also worth mentioning that the Cupertino brand is offering a one-year subscription to the service for free to customers who purchase an Apple product.

Compatible Devices

One problem that certain users might face is that the Apple TV app won't be available on "select older Roku models."

According to Roku's support page, it's supported only by the devices listed below:

• Roku TV

• Roku Smart Soundbar

• onn Roku Smart Soundbar

• Roku Express

• Roku Express+

• Roku HD

• Roku Streaming Stick

• Roku Streaming Stick+

• Roku Premiere

• Roku Premiere+

• Roku Ultra

• Roku Ultra LT

• Roku 2

• Roku 3

Country Availability

Speaking of limitations, the app also won't be available in certain areas and markets. Only users in these countries listed below can access it:

• Argentina

• Canada

• Chile

• Colombia

• Costa Rica

• El Salvador

• France

• Guatemala

• Honduras

• Mexico

• Nicaragua

• Panama

• Peru

• Republic of Ireland

• United Kingdom

• United States

ⓒ 2021 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.