"Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness," a CGI animation series based on the "Resident Evil" video game franchise is now out on Netflix. 

The four-episode series is produced by TMS Entertainment, a Japanese animation studio that previously worked on anime franchises such as "Anpanman," "Lupin The Third," and "Detective Conan." 

Animation for the series was done by Quebico.

'Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness' Story: Where It Fits in the 'RE' Timeline

Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness
(Photo : Screenshot taken from Resident Evil's Twitter)

"Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness" takes place between the events of "Resident Evil 4" and "Resident Evil 5." Specifically, the story of the series, which is set in 2006, happens "two years after 'Resident Evil 4' (2004) and three years before 'Resident Evil 5' (2009)," according to GamesRadar

Per the same article, "Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness" is part of the franchise canon. 

That timeline also puts the events of "Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness" eight years after the Raccoon Incident, which took place in 1998 in the story. 

The premise of the story involves a hacking incident at the White House, which "Resident Evil" main character Leon S. Kennedy is sent to investigate. Meanwhile, fellow "RE" main character Claire Redfield is investigating a drawing by a child refugee she encounters while working on a TerraSave mission.

'Infinite Darkness' In Comparison to Other 'RE' CGI Titles

Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness
(Photo : Screenshot taken from Resident Evil's Twitter)

While "Resident Evil: Infinite Darkness" is the first CGI animated series of the franchise on Netflix, it is not the first CG animation title of "Resident Evil." CGI films have previously been made as part of the franchise. 

First of which, "Resident Evil: Degeneration" was released in 2008 and distributed by Sony Pictures Entertainment Japan. The second CGI movie, "Resident Evil: Damnation" was released in 2012, while the third film, "Resident Evil: Vendetta" came out in 2017

If the three movies and the "Infinite Darkness" series were arranged chronologically in order of the events that transpire in their stories, "Degeneration" happens first, followed by "Infinite Darkness," "Damnation," and lastly, "Vendetta." 

What all four titles also have in common is that they all star Leon S. Kennedy. Aside from "Infinite Darkness," Claire Redfield only stars in one other CGI film, "Degeneration." Her brother, Chris Redfield, stars with Leon in "Vendetta" while another "RE" main character, Ada Wong" appears with Leon in "Damnation."

Related Article: Ready For More 'Resident Evil' Movies? Reboot Confirmed For Most Successful Video Game-Based Film Franchise

'Resident Evil Village,' 'Resident Evil Re:Verse,' and Live Action Film Reboot

2021 has been a big year for "Resident Evil" and its fans as the franchise celebrates its 25th anniversary. 

Aside from the CGI Netflix series, "Resident Evil Village," the eighth game in the name series was also released this year. A DLC for "Resident Evil Village" has also been confirmed by the game's developer, Capcom.

A deathmatch-style game, "Resident Evil Re:Verse," is scheduled to come out within this month in celebration of the anniversary. 

The live action film series is also gearing up for a reboot. The first movie, which is called "Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City" is set for release on November 24, 2021. 

Also Read: Capcom Unveils 'Dead by Daylight' and 'Resident Evil' Crossover: Who Could be the Killer?

This article is owned by Tech Times

Written by Isabella James

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.