DC Comics fans, rejoice: the latest version of the supervillain team Suicide Squad will soon be on its way to theaters.

While Batman v Super: Dawn of Justice director Zack Snyder wanted to keep all news and images of his movie under wraps, Suicide Squad director David Ayer decided to take it up a notch by unveiling the first group picture of the characters via Twitter.

Ayer's announcement came a little over a week after he gave the public its first look at Jared Leto taking on the garb of long-time Batman nemesis the Joker.

The Suicide Squad photograph features the members of its dysfunctional crew: Rick Flag (Joel Kinnaman), Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Enchantress (Cara Delevigne), Killer Croc (Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje), Katana (Karen Fukuhara), Captain Boomerang (Jai Courtney), Slipknot (Adam Beach) and El Diablo (Jay Hernandez).

Ayer released the photo on his Twitter account along with the caption "Task Force X assembled and ready." He also included an individual snapshot of Deadshot's costume for the film.

Some of the other cast members in the film not included in the photo are Jared Leto (The Joker), Viola Davis, (Amanda Waller), Scott Eastwood, Jim Parrack, Ike Barinholtz and Common.

Ben Affleck is also reported to make an appearance in the film as billionaire playboy Bruce Wayne, also known as the crime-fighter Batman.

Warner Bros.' upcoming Suicide Squad film is based on the popular DC Comics anti-hero team of the same name.

The Suicide Squad consists of incarcerated supervillains forced to do the bidding of a shadowy government agency called Checkmate as part of its Task Force X program. They are sent on highly difficult missions, often deemed suicidal by the government, in exchange for the shortening of their sentence or even their early release.

The concept for the team was partly inspired by the classic film The Dirty Dozen and the hit television series Mission: Impossible.

In most of its comic book run, the Suicide Squad is led by Amanda Waller. She is one of Checkmate's chiefs, with the title of the White Queen.

Waller's second in command, Rick Flag Jr., serves as the team's field commander. He is the one responsible for keeping the supervillains in check, and that the mission is accomplished no matter what.

While their missions are considered to be done for the greater good of the public, the Suicide Squad has had several brushes with DC superheroes such as the Flash, Green Arrow and Batman.

Suicide Squad is scheduled to hit theaters on Aug. 5, 2016.

Be sure to follow T-Lounge on Twitter and visit our Facebook page.

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.