Come 2017, "Star Trek" will boldly go to online streaming service via CBS All Access, and as it seems, it will live long and prosper as a television series.

The next chapter for the "Star Trek" series will be led by none other than Alex Kurtzman, executive producer of "Star Trek" in 2009 and producer of "Star Trek Into Darkness" in 2013. This proves that he is more than capable of steering the U.S.S. Enterprise in the right direction.

"We've experienced terrific growth for CBS All Access, expanding the service across affiliates and devices in a very short time. We now have an incredible opportunity to accelerate this growth with the iconic 'Star Trek,' and its devoted and passionate fan base, as our first original series," Marc DeBevoise, executive VP and general manager of CBS Digital Media, says in a news release.

Moving forward, what "Star Trek" fans would like to know is which timeline the new series will take place in. To get things straight, the upcoming television series isn't related to "Star Trek Beyond," according to CBS, which could possibly mean an intact Vulcan planet. What fans want is a galaxy continuing the story of Patrick Stewart's Jean Luc-Picard.

Next up, a new ship along with a new crew is what fans are asking for. A new Picard would be nice to see, but it's not exactly necessary. As long as Kurtzman finds a bright-eyed relatable crew, all will be well, but the new cast should consist of individuals whom everyone can join in with for a long time.

To retain the "Star Trek" magic, it would be great to have some familiar faces behind the scenes. If the franchise gets Ronald Moore, Manny Coto and Bryan Fuller, to name a few, to write for the new television series, then the show's a shoo-in.

Also, if the producers could take a look at fan-made films such as "Star Trek Axanar," then it's a win-win situation, as the producers will get an idea of what fans want, and in turn, fans will get definitely get something along the lines.

Hopefully, we'll get more than we bargained for in January 2017.

ⓒ 2021 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.