Battlefield 1 Apocalypse DLC Adds Air Assault Mode, Plus New Maps, And Assault Weapons


EA and DICE just announced details of the final DLC content for Battlefield 1. It is the fourth expansion to hit the game since 2016.

The new content is expected to drop sometime this February for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. The last expansion is named Apocalypse and it will bring a slew of new stuff for players to mess around with.

Just like the previous add-ons, players can expect new maps, dog tags, skins, weapons, and vehicles to bump the shooter's longevity.

What's In 'Apocalypse?'

Players who bought the Premium Pass will receive the last expansion at no additional cost while others can purchase it separately via their platform's respective marketplace. Inclusive contents are five new maps Caporetto, River Somme, Razor's Edge, Passchendaele, and London Calling.

Based on the information from the game's official website, two of the abovementioned maps are called London Calling and Razor's Edge. These maps are exclusive to the title's Air Assault mode for players who log dogfights and airships, which is likened to the Starfighter Assault mode featured in Star Wars: Battlefront II, another FPS from EA.

The new arsenal includes two melee weapons, the prybar and meat cleaver, with new firearms such as the Chauchat-Ribeyrolles SMG and other unique weapons.


DICE describes this new Battlefield 1 Apocalypse DLC map as "the bloody, muddy hell" where the allied forces clashed with troops of the German Empire.

River Somme

According to the developer, this map features "scenic wheat fields that transform into a nightmare after devastating artillery barges."


The third regular map included in the fourth expansion is where the German Empire together with Austria and Hungary defeated the Italian Army.

London Calling

One of two maps limited to Battlefield 1 Air Assault mode. The concept art for the map shows airships bombing London.

Razor's Edge

The second new Air Assault wherein the concept artwork portrays intense dogfights along snow-capped peaks.

Remaining Stuff From Previous DLC

EA and DICE also wanted to inform players that Premium Pass holders will still receive the North Sea campaign as part of the Turning Tide expansion. It is scheduled to arrive this month along with two new maps, Heligoland Bight and Zeebrugge, the C-Class Airship, and the British Empire Royal Marines.

Furthermore, Prise de Tahure, a previously DLC-exclusive map, is now available for all Battlefield 1 players. It is currently unknown if EA will continue to support the game with more post-launch updates.

ⓒ 2018 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics