MENU

Google Buys Social Photos App Odysee — What Does This Mean For Google+ Photos?

Close

Google has acquired Odysee, a photo sharing app for Android and iOS that allows users to automatically backup their photos and videos to their desktop computer.

The service will be joining Google+, likely in an effort to continue to beef up the already stellar Google+ Photos.

The acquisition was announced via Odysee's home page, as well as through a notification that was sent out to users. The service will also shut down its service on Feb. 23, at which point all content passed through the service will be available via a downloadable archive. The app is no longer available via the Apple App Store or Google Play.

Google+ Photos has enjoyed being one of the most popular and best features of Google+ ever since it was first introduced. Not only that, but there are a lot of rumors suggesting that Google will be spinning off Google+ Photos as its own service, so it makes sense that Google would want to beef up the feature as much as possible before it does.

This acquisition could see Google+ adding a feature that allows users to save and view photos offline, something that really isn't available right now. The feature could be handy for those who want access to their photos at all times, but not as useful for those that are wary of handing over their personal photos and videos to Google, a concern that has been growing as privacy becomes more of an issue.

Odysee is certainly an interesting app. It essentially shifted the storage of photos from cloud-based storage to the user's computer, even allowing users to access those photos if the computer was offline through a caching option.

Another reason that Odysee is different from other photo sharing apps and services is the fact that it has a social component to it. Users can follow their friends and family, sharing photos with their followers.

Google+ Photos already has somewhat of a social aspect of it, being a part of Google+. Users can currently upload photos to share with their friends and those in their "circles," as well as create scrapbooks.

It is currently not known when the service, or if the service, will be added into the Google+ Photos feature set. It is possible that Google simply wanted the minds behind the service to work on upcoming Google+ Photos features.

Even if Google doesn't end up spinning Google+ Photos off as a separate feature, the move does prove that Google is serious about its photo offerings and that this isn't likely to change in the near future. 

ⓒ 2018 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics